All Collections
Organization
Roles & Permissions tab
Roles & Permissions tab

Learn how to work with the Roles & Permissions tab to enhance operational efficiency and secure access control across your organization

Reply Team avatar
Written by Reply Team
Updated over a week ago

The Roles & Permissions tab in your organization's management helps you efficiently manage your client groups (teams) and their functions. To understand more about organizational structures in Reply, refer to this article.

Using the Roles & Permissions tab, you can define and assign specific responsibilities and access levels for your team members. This ensures a clear team structure and keeps sensitive information and critical functions accessible only to authorized personnel.

View and Manage Roles & Permissions

To access the Roles & Permissions management options:

  1. Click on your profile icon at the upper right corner of the interface.

  2. Select "Organization Management" from the dropdown menu.

  3. Navigate to the "Roles & Permissions" tab.

All roles are listed in the left-side panel. When you click on a role, you will see a list of permissions for it, which you can enable or disable.

Organization in Reply has two primary categories for role management:

  • Organization Roles: Focuses on roles at the organizational level, such as billing, user invitations, client management, and permission settings.

  • Client Roles: Targets roles related to specific client teams, covering functionalities like Sequences, Contacts, Reports, Tasks, and Integrations within the Reply platform.

Organization Roles

Organization Roles in Reply are administrative roles that apply to the entire organization, providing a set of permissions to manage various aspects of the platform. These roles can be customized by enabling or disabling specific permissions to suit the needs of your organization.

Permissions for Organization Roles:

  • Billing: Manage billing details and access the Plans and Billing page.

  • Invite New Users to Organization: Invite new members to join the organization.

  • Remove Users from Organization: Remove existing members from the organization.

  • Assign Roles: Assign roles to users within the organization.

  • Manage Roles: Create, edit, and delete roles within the organization.

  • Add Users to Client Groups: Add users to specific client groups.

  • Manage Permissions: Enable or disable specific permissions for various roles.

  • Delete Roles: Remove existing roles from the organization.

  • Edit Clients: Modify client group details.

  • Delete Clients: Remove client groups from the organization.

  • Create Clients: Create new client groups.

  • Manage Reply Beta Features: Access and manage features in the Reply beta program.

  • View Clients: View details of client groups.

  • Access Organization Settings: Access and modify organization-wide settings.

Important: Team roles cannot manage permissions at the organizational level unless they are also assigned an administrative (organizational) role.

  • Add a Role

Click the ➕ icon in the clock with organization roles.

Enter the role name, and click "Create."

  • Manage Permissions

Select a role to view and adjust its permissions. Enable or disable permissions as needed and click "Save."

  • Manage Roles

Use the ⋮ icon next to a role to rename or delete it, confirming your choice in the prompt.

Client Roles

Client roles are specific to team members within different client groups (teams) and include a unique set of permissions for each client. Editing roles in one client group will not affect similar roles in other teams.

Permissions for Team Roles (Client Roles) include such blocks:

  1. Sequence: Here you can enable or disable permissions that allow users to manage sequences, run, pause, create, delete, archive, and change owners; and access the sequence outbox. Learn more about how sequences work in Reply.

  2. Contacts: Permissions in this block allow users to manage other contacts: create, delete, edit, and perform actions.

  3. Template: Permissions that allow users to access, view, use, edit, and delete team and client email templates.

  4. Report: View reports on various outreach activities: calls, email, performance, tasks, LinkedIn, channel efficiency, and agency dashboard.

    📌 Quick Note: If you disable all permissions except one for Reports, you can create a Reports-only view. This setup is particularly beneficial for agencies to view outreach activity results, without access to other functionalities they don't need. This way, you can easily share all reports and analytics with your clients.

  5. Tasks: Manage tasks: view, assign, and complete.

  6. Accounts: Manage accounts (companies contacts are assigned to): view, create, update, and delete.

  7. Integrations: Access integrations such as Zapier, Reply API, Integrations page, and Reply Marketplace.

  8. Inbox: Access and use the inbox.

  9. Data: Access and use data search.

  10. Settings: Access team settings (accessible from profile icon -> All settings).

  • Add a Role to a Client

Click the ➕ icon next to the desired client.

Add the name of the role and click Create.

  • Adjust Role Permissions

To manage permissions for a particular role in a client group, select a role to manage its specific permissions. Permissions can be tailored to each role, ensuring flexibility across different teams.

Check what permissions to enable, or uncheck permissions you want to disable for this role. Click Save.

Some permissions feature additional configurations—'Client' or 'My'. This distinction allows for more granular control, such as enabling a user to run sequences they created ('My') versus those created by any team member ('Client').

Did this answer your question?