Note
For users that enabled Team Edition in the Public mode: contact status can be changed only by the Prospect Owner or the Owner of the Campaign. Other team members cannot update the status for the contacts that do not belong to them. The Opted Out status can be assigned to a contact by any team member.

Statuses are applicable only to the contacts that are in a campaign at the moment. Please also note that not all the statuses are compatible with each other and there are some constraints on assigning the status to the contact. You will be able to find the description below.

To change the contact's status manually, please select the contact in People > '+' or '-' status > Set Status:

Active
Contact status in an active campaign. You can manually change this status to Paused, Finished, Out Of Office, Opted Out. You can change this status to Bounced or Replied manually only in case this contact has received at least one email in the current campaign. Contacts with the Active status can receive their emails and replies can be tracked for them in case they received at least 1 email from the campaign.

Paused
Contact status in an active campaign that was paused manually. This means that the contact does not receive emails from the campaign. Replies are not tracked for Paused contacts. You can manually change this status to Active.

Inactive
The system sets the Inactive status if your contact's profile does not have a variable that you have added to the email template. You can either update the contact's profile with a variable from the template or remove the variable in the template to make your prospect Active. The missing variable will be indicated as {VariableName} in Campaign > Preview. This status can be removed only manually. Emails are not sent to contacts with the Inactive status. You can learn more about this status here.

Bounced
The system assigns this status when the email which has been sent to the prospect was bounced due to invalid email address or some other reason. You can change the email address for this prospect to the valid one in their profile, uncheck Bounced + change the status to Active, and resend the email within the same campaign. The Bounced status can be assigned manually in case if there was at least 1 email sent to that contact. Bounce detection procedure is the same as for replies.
Note: sometimes contacts with Bounced status can have Opened status as well. This open can be a view of email checker that was checking your email on recipient's provider side (email address can be not valid but domain exists) or this can be your own view of the bounce back message that included the details of your original message.

Out of office
The system assigns this status when it detects an auto reply with the out of office key words. You can manually change this status to Active.
This status stops sending out further steps to a prospect untill you manually remove it. 

Finished
The system assigns the Finished status when the prospect replies to your email sent within the campaign or when all steps have been sent. You can manually change this status to Active and continue sending emails to them only if the prospect did not complete all steps of the campaign or when you added extra steps to already finished campaign. Replies detection is not performed for the contacts that have Finished status. Emails are not sent to contacts with this status as well.

Contacted
The Contacted status means that a contact received at least one email sent from the current Reply campaign. You cannot change this status manually. 

Opted Out
The system assigns the Opted Out  status after a prospect clicks on your opt out link to unsubscribe from getting any further emails from you. It's also assigned automatically if you have a text Opt Out functionality, when the prospect responds with the 'unsubscribe' request and sorted into Do Not Contact Inbox category by our AI. Sometimes you may need to change the inbox category for your emails manually as AI may be not 100% accurate. Our AI can understand English language only so if the reply from the contact is on the different language - you will have to set the Inbox category by your own. The Opted Out status can be set and removed manually as well.

Replied
The system assigns the Replied status after a prospect responds to your email from the same email address you have sent them the email. Once the contact received the Replied status -  the sequence stops for them by default unless you've selected Continue sending emails in Campaign > Settings > Replies Handling

The Replied status usually comes together with Finished status. The system stops replies tracking for the contacts that have Replied status in Reply independent on whether it was set automatically or manually. To make sure all your replies are detected please check this article.

Opened
The system assigns the Opened status to the prospect when they open your email. You can not change this status manually. Opens tracking can be disabled on Campaign level in Campaign > Settings > General Settings:

Clicked
The system assigns the Clicked status to the contact when links tracking is enabled in Campaign > Settings > General Settings and a contact clicks on a link in your email. You cannot change this status manually. 

Auto-replied
The system assigns the Auto-replied status to the contact when it detects an automatic reply. You cannot change this status manually.
This status doesn't stop your campaign's flow. Future steps will be sent in a usual way.

Did this answer your question?